Hamlin Takes Brickyard Pole; Keselowski Wins Nationwide Race

By Dean Pantazi

Hamlin Takes Brickyard Pole; Keselowski Wins Nationwide Race

July 28, 2012 Updated Jul 28, 2012 at 10:41 PM EDT

SPEEDWAY (Indiana's NewsCenter) - Denny Hamlin won the pole Saturday for the Brickyard 400, his second pole of the Spring Cup season and eleventh of his career.

Hamlin went 182.763 miles per hour to outrun Carl Edwards, who will start beside him in the front row.

Joey Logano, Aric Amirola, and Greg Biffle rounded out the top five.

Four time Brickyard winner Jeff Gordon wil start ninth, Dale Earnhardt Jr. 20th and 2005 Brickyard champ Tony Stewart will start 28th.

Later in the day, Brad Keselowski won the inaugural Indiana 250 Nationwide race, the first time the Nationwide Series has raced at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Danica Patrick crashed in the 39th lap and ended up 35th.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.