Komets hand out team awards

By Web Sports

Komets hand out team awards

June 21, 2010 Updated Apr 13, 2008 at 10:14 PM EDT

Fort Wayne, IN -- Sunday night the Komets announced their annual End-of-Season Player Awards following the Komet/Flint game at the Memorial Coliseum. The awards were presented as follows:

1st award: Bud Gallmeier Memorial Trophy/Community Service Award
Selected for community service and dedication to the game of hockey in memory of long-time Komet beat writer Bud Gallmeier. OLIVIER LEGAULT AND JAKE PENCE

2nd award: Wiegmann Family "True Komet" Award
This award exemplifies team spirit and positive attitude on and off the ice. With the award the winner receives a gift. COLIN CHAULK

3rd award: NOB Brick Award
This award goes to the Stonewall Defensive Forward of the season for the Komets.
DAVID HUKALO (second consecutive season to win the NOB Brick Award)

4th award: Continuous Improvement Systems' Plus/Minus Award
For the player on the team with the best plus/minus figure. GUY DUPUIS (3rd straight year, 6th time. Has also won 194-95, 1995-96, 1996-97, 2005-06, 2006-07)

5th award: Mr. Hustle Award
This award honors the memory of Cliff and Jean Fell, Jim and William Fell, and Pat Curtis, long-time Komet fans. The Komets "Mr. Hustle" award takes into account a players personal statistics (goals, assists, on-ice hits at home) and a player's overall up-tempo style of game. MITCH WOODS

6th award: Unsung Hero Award
This is the "5/30" award in tribute to Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke, two longtime Komet players and members of the Komet Hall of Fame. This award is given to the player who's hard work, dedication to his teammates and love of the game is in the true spirit of Komet legends Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke. KEVIN BERTRAM

7th award: Komet Kuarters Most Improved Player Award

8th award: Komet Defenseman Of The Year
GUY DUPUIS (6th time, 3rd straight year. Has also won 1994-95, 1996-97, 1997-98, 2005-06, 2006-07)

9th award: Komet Rookie Of The Year

10th and last award: Most Valuable Player
This award is known as the Foss Folk Memorial Trophy. The award continues to be sponsored by the Foss Folk family and is voted on by the Komet players themselves. COLIN CHAULK

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.