Scott & Simmons Take Player of the Year Honors (VIDEO & PHOTOS)

By Tommy Schoegler

April 25, 2013 Updated Nov 7, 2013 at 3:45 AM EDT

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (www.incnow.tv)- Some of the best basketball players and student athletes in the area packed into the new AWP facility at the SportONE/Parkview Fieldhouse on Wednesday night for the 21Alive Scholar Athlete and Basketball Player of the Year reception.

In all, 39 athletes, their familes and coaches were in attendance to receive awards for a fine winter sports season. The big highlight of the night was the announcement of the girls and boys players of the year.

On the girls side Arianna Simmons of South Side is this year's winner. The IPFW recruit led South to the 4A State Finals and is a member of the Indiana All-Star team.

Bryson Scott was named the Boys Player of the Year. The Purdue recruit led Northrop to a sectional title and is also on the Indiana All-Star team.

Thanks to AWP and SportONE for once again being fine sponsors of the event.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.