Basketball Players of Year To Be Announced Wednesday

By Eric Dutkiewicz

April 18, 2012 Updated Oct 24, 2013 at 1:09 AM EDT

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (Indiana's NewsCenter) - Thursday night will mark the end of the high school basketball season when area student-athletes come together for the SportONE Indiana's NewsCenter Boys and Girls Basketball Players of the Year award ceremony.

This year's 13 nominees come from SportONE Indiana's NewsCenter Players of the Week, boys and girls respectively, during the regular season. The Players of the Year are selected by a committee of coaches from Northeast Indiana, and will be announced at a reception Thursday night at Athletes With Purpose in Fort Wayne.

Boys Nominees
Maverick Baumer, Adams Central
V.J. Beachem, New Haven
James Blackmon, Jr., Bishop Luers
A.J. Busche, Leo
Keith Cochran, Bluffton
Kyle Fillman, Norwell
Nick Gamble, Homestead
Logan Irwin, Whitko
Brenton Scott, Northrop
Bryson Scott, Northrop
Zach Terrell, Homestead
Trent VanHorn, Canterbury
Josh VanMeter, Norwell

Girls Nominees
Emily Bley, Homestead
Ally Christman, Bishop Dwenger
Bailey Farley, Canterbury
Kindell Fincher, Canterbury
Keanna Gary, Leo
Brooke Ridley, Bishop Luers
Rachel Rinehart, Angola
Jessica Rupright, Norwell
Meredith Shipman, Snider
Ariana Simmons, South Side
Akilah Sims, Snider
Jomani Thomas, South Side
Miracle Woods, Bishop Luers

Indiana's NewsCenter will have a recap of the ceremony tonight at 10 and 11.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.