Michigan's Hoke Big Ten Football Coach Of The Year

By Dean Pantazi

Michigan's Hoke Big Ten Football Coach Of The Year

November 30, 2011 Updated Nov 30, 2011 at 10:15 PM EDT

UNDATED (Indiana's NewsCenter) - Michigan coach Brady Hoke has been named the Big Ten Football Coach of the Year.

Hoke, the one time coach at Ball State, becomes the third Michigan coach win the award, joining Bo Schembechler, who won the award six different seasons, and Gary Moeller, who earned the recognition twice.

In his first year in Ann Arbor, Hoke led the Wolverines to their first 10-win season since 2006 and a second-place finish in the Legends Division.

Hoke is just the second Michigan coach to win 10 or more games in his first season, joining the legendary Fielding Yost in 1901.

The Wolverines’ 10-2 record also marks the second-best improvement in wins by a first-year head coach in program history.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.