IPFW Women's Volleyball To NCAA Tournament

By Dean Pantazi

IPFW Women's Volleyball To NCAA Tournament

November 18, 2012 Updated Nov 18, 2012 at 12:23 AM EDT

FARGO, North dakota (www.incnow.tv) - IPFW is headed to the NCAA Tournament as Summit League champions after beating IUPUI on Saturday night 3-0 to win the conference tournament.

Game scores were 25-15, 25-12, 25-20.

Emily Spencer, Jessie Manwaring, and Hailie Ripley led the charge for the IPFW offense, as Spencer ended the night with a match-high 15 kills, Ripley recorded nine kills, and Manwaring added 11 kills.

Megan Steenhuysen recorded 40 assists in the championship match while also contributing with two kills, six digs, and two blocks. Steenhuysen was named Tournament MVP after the win.

The Division I Women's Volleyball Committee will conduct selections for the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship Nov. 24-25. The 64-team field will be announced during a selection show on ESPNU, Sunday, Nov. 25, at 4 p.m. ET.

The 64-team field will be selected from 328 NCAA Division I institutions sponsoring the sport of women's volleyball. Of the 64 teams, 31 teams will receive automatic qualification with the remaining best 33 teams selected on an at-large basis.

First and second round competition of the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship will be held at 16 campus sites Nov. 29-30 or Nov. 30-Dec. 1. Winners advance to four regional tournaments.

IPFW has only appeared in the NCAA Tournament once before as the 2009 team that featured McGill, Steenhuysen, Emenhiser, and Manwaring as freshmen lost to No. 5 Illinois in the first round.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.