Dons Clean Up and Volleyball Awards Banquet

By Tommy Schoegler

November 16, 2012 Updated Nov 16, 2012 at 12:20 AM EDT

(Undated)- Emily Spencer, Tessa McGill, and Megan Steenhuysen all earned major postseason accolades on Thursday night as the Summit League announced their annual All-League awards.

Tessa McGill was named Defensive Player of the Year, Megan Steenhuysen was honored as the Setter of the Year and sophomore Emily Spencer took the top honor of the night as she was named Summit League Player of the Year. All three players were also named All-League. There are no first and second all-league teams this year, instead the Summit League voted for honorable mention selections. Senior Jessie Manwaring was listed as an honorable mention selection and the final Mastodon to earn an award was red-shirt freshman Hailie Ripley who made the All-Freshman Team.

The Mastodons are currently in Fargo, N.D. for the Summit League Volleyball Championship Tournament. They will face Oakland tomorrow in a semifinal match that begins at 6 p.m. The winner will face either IUPUI or Kansas City in the championship match that will be played on Saturday, Nov. 17 at 8 p.m.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.