Atop The Ant Hill: Mad Ants Win D-League Crown (VIDEO & PHOTOS)

By Dean Pantazi - 21Alive
By Eric Dutkiewicz - 21Alive

April 27, 2014 Updated Apr 28, 2014 at 8:15 PM EDT

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (21Alive) - In their seventh year of existence, the Mad Ants reached the pinnacle of the NBA Development League Saturday night with a 119-113 win over the Santa Cruz Warriors to win the D-League Final series in two straight games.

Tony Mitchell scored 25 of his game high 32 points in the third quarter, but after Santa Cruz rallied in the second half to at one point take the lead, it was Mitchell with a big time driving score and three point play with 9.2 seconds left that sealed the deal for the Mad Ants.

Ron Howard, a Mad Ant for all or part of all seven years of the club's life, added 23 points and Matt Bouldin 20.

Seth Curry led Santa Cruz with 29 points.

The title is the 13th all time for a Fort Wayne professional sport franchise, nine of them won by the Komets. one by the TinCaps, and two in the 1940s by the Zollner Pistons in the National Basketball League.

For highlights and postgame comments click on the video icon on the screen above.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.