Luers Star Is 1st Mr. Football From Fort Wayne

Jaylon Smith Wins 2012 Indiana Mr. Football

By Eric Dutkiewicz

December 6, 2012 Updated Oct 30, 2013 at 7:58 PM EDT

INDIANAPOLIS (www.incnow.tv) - He led Bishop Luers to its fourth straight IHSAA 2A Football State Championship, has signed a letter-of-intent to play at Notre Dame and now holds the claim as best high school football player in Indiana.

Smith has been named 2012 Indiana Mr. Football. He received 23, beating Warren Central linebacker Tim Kimbrough (11 votes), Mishawaka quarterback Sam Schrader (5 votes) and seven others. The prize is presented by The Indianapolis Star.

Mr. Football has been awarded since 1992, and Smith is the first Fort Wayne athlete to win the honor. Smith recorded 75 tackles (20 for loss) on the defensive side of the ball, while rushing for more than 1,200 yards and 20 touchdowns.

Earlier this week, Smith won the 2012 Butkus Award as top high school linebacker in the nation.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.