Five Year Anniversary Of Taylor Van Crash

By Scott Sarvay

April 26, 2011 Updated Apr 26, 2011 at 10:48 PM EDT

UPLAND, Ind. (Indiana’s NewsCenter) - Taylor University pauses Tuesday to mark the 5-year anniversary of the tragic deaths of five of its school members.

Students Laurel Erb, Brad Larson, Betsy Smith and Laura Van Ryn and staffer Monica Felver were killed in 2006 when their van was struck by a semi on I-69 in Grant County.

Adding to the tragedy, Van Ryn was mis-identified as Whitney Cerak, a student who was injured in the crash.

Cerak later recovered and graduated from Taylor in 2009.

A service to remember the victims will be held at Taylor's Memorial Prayer Chapel in Upland beginning at 5 pm.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.