EACS Officially Closing Monroeville & Harlan Elementary Schools

By John W. Davis

March 2, 2011 Updated Oct 21, 2013 at 3:00 PM EDT

NEW HAVEN, Ind. (Indiana's NewsCenter) - The East Allen County School Board has officially voted to close Monroeville Elementary School and Harlan Elementary School at the end of this school year.

The East Allen County Schools Board meeting took place Tuesday night at EACS Administration Building in New Haven.

"It's a part of a step within the budgetary issues but as far as our redesign and what we want to do across the district, it is a big step," said East Allen County Schools Superintendent Dr. Karyle Green.

Meanwhile, Indiana's NewsCenter has learned no students will have to take classes in temporary trailers next year.

That's because Hoagland Elementary and Woodburn Elementary will remain open for at least one year, housing students from the soon to be closed Monroeville and Harlan Elementary Schools.

The East Allen Board had previously voted to create K-12 campuses at Heritage and Woodlan Junior/Senior High Schools.

Both K-12 campuses will need major building renovations and additions.

"Now comes the part where we can actually look at how we are going to design our buildings, improvement of our academic program and all the things we're working on toward with that," said Green.

Architects have already been selected for both projects.

Superintendent Green said community members should expect reports from those architects at all future meetings.


Meanwhile, the East Allen County Schools district is still closing six elementary schools as a part of the district redesign plan.

Those schools are Harlan Elementary, Hoagland Elementary, Meadowbrook Elementary, Monroeville Elementary, Village Elementary and Woodburn Elementary.

However, Hoagland Elementary and Woodburn Elementary schools will remain open until the K-12 campuses in the Heritage and Woodlan attendance areas are complete.

Board members voted to close Monroeville and send all K-6 students to Hoagland Elementary.

Eventually Hoagland Elementary will close as well and those students will attend a K-12 campus at Heritage Junior/Senior High School.

Monroeville Elementary parents and community members fought for months to keep their schools open.

Board members discussed an amendment that would have kept Monroeville Elementary School open for at least one more year.

That amendment was voted down.

"I really think we'll probably look at a charter school. If that's at all possible. My town council told me before, if they closed us, to pursue it and that's what I'll do," said Monroeville Town Council President Don Geradot.

The board also voted to close Harlan Elementary School.

The district will send K-3 students to Woodburn Elementary School.

Meanwhile, 4th through 6th grade students from Harlan and Woodburn will be moved to Woodlan Junior/Senior High School in the fall.

They will be housed in a separate section of that building.

Woodburn Elementary School will close when the K-12 campus at Woodlan Junior/Senior High School has enough room for all students.


Indiana's NewsCenter has learned the EACS transition plan for the 2011-2012 school year has been finalized.

Harding High School students have been reassigned to the other four high schools in the EACS district.

Meanwhile, students who are currently attending the elementary schools that will be closing have also been re-assigned.

The full EACS redesign plan will take a few years to implement.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.