Indiana (Indiana’s NewsCenter) - The highest court in the state could soon rule on Indiana's aging moped laws, clearing up some gray areas in the decades old legislation.
In late April, the Indiana Supreme Court heard augments in a case surrounding a man who was arrested for driving his moped 43 miles per hour on U.S. 24 without an active driver's license. The speed, not the horsepower, is what's being debated.
In Indiana, mopeds (referred to as motorized bicycles in current legislation) must be two horsepower or less, 50 cubic centimeters or less, and designed with a maximum speed of 25 miles per hour.
Even though some 49cc mopeds are only designed to operate at 25 miles per hour, many of them can travel significantly faster.
Under current Indiana law, using a moped in Indiana, unlike many other states, is legal without licensing or insurance. In order to ride a moped, you only need to be 15-years-old or older and carry a state issued ID.
Drivers under the age of 18 must also wear a helmet and eye protection. Moped drivers are also not permitted to ride with passengers, on interstates or on sidewalks.
Last legislative session, State Representative Milo Smith proposed a bill that would require a moped to be, "titled and registered with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles." The bill would have also required, "certain individuals to file accident reports after an accident involving a moped."
The bill died in the Senate, and it is unclear if Smith will propose similar legislation next session.
What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.
© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.