All 92 Hoosier Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas

By Scott Sarvay

All 92 Hoosier Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas

September 5, 2012 Updated Sep 5, 2012 at 3:42 PM EDT

Indiana (Indiana’s NewsCenter) - Lt. Governor Becky Skillman and Indiana State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency Julia Wickard announced today that all 92 Indiana counties have been designated primary natural disaster areas by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined sufficient production losses to warrant such a declaration.

“This designation is important because it provides relief to all producers across Indiana who have suffered a qualifying loss of 30 percent or greater of at least one crop, “ said Julia Wickard, State Executive Director, Indiana Farm Service Agency.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for low interest loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

In addition to loan assistance, the USDA has also improved flexibility in the Conservation Reserve Program, making more livestock producers and landowners eligible for emergency haying and grazing. Indiana has a comprehensive website dedicated to the latest developments on the 2012 drought. Visit www.in.gov/drought for more information on disaster declarations, assistance programs and additional resources for producers.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.