Fort Wayne Community Schools Announces Retirements

By Eric Dutkiewicz
By Emma Koch

Fort Wayne Community Schools Announces Retirements

May 15, 2013 Updated May 15, 2013 at 5:43 PM EDT

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (www.incnow.tv) - Fort Wayne Community Schools announced the retirement of 73 district staff members Wednesday, as the 2012-13 school year inches towards its close.

The district wishes the best to the teachers, bus drivers, classroom assistants, administrators and others who dedicated many years to making the lives of children better. The years of service for this year’s group of retirees range from 12 to 49, and each year made a difference to students.

Name School & Position Years of Service

Lynn "Scotty" Smuts

Snider High School Business Teacher


Carolyn Yates

Lakeside Middle School Language Arts Teacer  43

Margaret Schimmel

Waynedayle Elementary School 3rd Grade Teacher  42

Shelley Wellington

Snider High School English Teacher  40.5

John H. Weicker

Director of Security  40

Judith Henderson

District Instructional Coach  39.5

Patrick Blose

Towles Montessori School Assistant Principal  39

Janet Perez

Anthis Career Center English/Reading Teacher


Robert Ping

Lane Middle School Science Teacher  39

William Schott

Weisser Park Elementary School 5th Grade Teacher  39

Theresa Stumpf

Weisser Park Elementary School Interventionalist  39

Mary Yarnelle

St. Joseph Central 1st Grade Teacher  37.5

Stephany Bourne

Indian Village Principal  37

Donn Nichols

Weisser Park Elementary School 5th Grade Teacher  36.5

Kevin Fahlsing

Bus Technician


Bonnie Rogers

Continuing Education Manager  34.5

Janet Davis

Haley Elementary School Student Interventionalist  34

Rhonda Lawrence

Shambaugh Elementary School 2nd Grade Teacher  33.5

Debra Fry

Croninger Elementary School Physical Education Teacher


Pamela Baker

Northrop High School Spanish Teacher  32.5

Larry Shelton

Forest Park Elementary School Physical Education Teacher


Marsha Flora

Northrop High School English/Journalism Teacher  31.5

Judith Bransteter

Anthis Career Center Math Teacher  29

Glenda Hayworth

Jefferson Middle School Counselor  29

Elaine Kemerer

Technology Senior Programmer  27

Diane Cox

Continuing Education Secretary  26

Susan Verse

Maplewood Elementary School 4th Grade Teacher  25.5

Julie Farrimond

Chief Operations Office Secretary  25.5

Roberta Bernard

Security Secretary  25

Judith Keys

Bus driver  25

Julie Bird

Lakeside Middle School 6th Grade Social Studies Teacher  25

Lynn Hall

Compensation & Benefits Manager  25

Lee Murphy

North Side High School Special Education-Instructional Coach


Shirley Taylor

Transportation Extracurricular Coach


Patricia Russell

Media Services Clerk  25

Cynthia Ricker

Glenwood Park Elementary School 3rd Grade Teacher  24.5

Lynn Yoder

Portage Middle School Language Arts Teacher  24

Gloria Dance

Jefferson Middle School Social Studies/Math Teacher


Marsha White

Special Education School Psychologist  23.5

Cynthia Ellinwood

Whitney Young Early Childhood Center Kindergarten Teacher  23
Deborah Nunn-Persley Harrison Hill Elementary School 3rd Grade Teacher  23
Jean Strawser

Miami Middle School Family & Consumer Science/Media Teacher


Donna Sturgeon

Forest Park Elementary School Special Education  23

Jeanne Nes

Lindley Elementary School Media Center Teacher  23

Joyce Sowders

Holland Elementary School Instructional Assistant  22.5

Christine Michael

Irwin Elementary School Science Teacher


Wanda Sommer

Maplewood Elementary School Student Interventionalist  22

Mary Eliasson

South Wayne Elementary School Secretary/Treasurer  22

Kathleen Minton

Bus Driver  22

Brenda Lee

Bus Assistant


Rosa Sherman

Franke Parke Elementary School Instructional Assistant  21

Diane Perriguey

Portage Middle School Language Arts/Science Teacher  21

Luke Richardson

Anthis Career Center Construction Trades Instructor  21

Sue Ellen Cash

Transportation Safety Coordinator  19

Marcella Degitz

Accounting Supervisor


Sandra Bruce

North Side High School Guidance Secretary


Julie Klugman

Harrison Hill Elementary School Media Clerk  18.5

Donna Lobdell

Miami Middle School Secretary  18.5

Monica Etter

Textbook Rental Coordinator  18

Linda Keifer

Haley Instructional Assistant  17.5

Karen Murphy

Bus Assistant


Diane Williams Woods

South Side High School Receptionist  17

Chris Greene

Kekionga Middle School Special Education Assistant  17

Cynthia Asselin

Bloomingdale Elementary School 5th Grade Teacher  16.5

Nancy Herber

Continuing Education Secretary


Dawn Rosendall

Lindley Elementary School Student Interventionalist


Robert Warnsley

Jefferson Middle School In School Suspension Supervisor


Elise Stier

Washington Elementary School 2nd Grade Teacher  15.5

Ronald Bade

Bus Driver  15

Nancy Krumm

South Side High School Family & Consumer Science Teacher  15

Donna Sickafus

Maintenance & Operations Secretary  15

Beverly Johnson

Snider High School Baker  13

Bonnie Fairfield

Internal Auditor  12

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.