EACS Did Not Pass AYP as a District

By Web News

June 18, 2010 Updated Mar 28, 2008 at 6:46 PM EDT

(Fort Wayne, IN) -- Just like Fort Wayne Community Schools, East Allen County Schools did not meet all the requirements of its Adequate Yearly Progress standards under the federal No Child Left Behind Act.

Like last year, nine East Allen schools -- half the district -- met all the standards.

Woodlan Junior-Senior and New Haven High Schools missed the cut only because of their graduation rates.

And the deputy superintendent says the district is looking at combining some grade levels at the remaining seven schools, to better help students learn.

Jan MacLean\EACS Deputy Superintendent: " Many students are bringing challenges to the school with them anymore. And so we have a lot of responsibility beyond just educating kids. I think that in some of our schools, we are providing additional supports to families, and certainly more learning supports for children, as well."

East Allen schools making AYP this year were Cedarville, Harlan, New Haven, Leo, Monroeville, and Woodburn Elementary Schools; New Haven Middle School; and Leo and Heritage Junior-Senior High Schools.

Schools not making the grade were Highland Terrace, Hoagland, Meadowbrook, Prince Chapman Academy, Southwick and Village Elementary Schools, and Paul Harding High School.

All schools in Northwest and Southwest Allen County passed AYP.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.