17 Indiana Counties Reported A "State of Emergency"

By Mary Collins
By Scott Sarvay

17 Indiana Counties Reported A "State of Emergency"

February 2, 2011 Updated Feb 2, 2011 at 12:14 PM EDT

FORT WAYNE, Ind., (Indiana's NewsCenter) - The Indiana Department of Homeland Security reported that 17 counties have an emergency declaration. They include: Boone, DeKalb, Elkhart, Fayette, Jasper, Lagrange, LaPorte, Marshal, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, Starke, Tipton, Wells, White and Whitley.

If a county has been declared in a “state of emergency,” that means the county board of commissioners has determined that conditions are so bad that they can no longer be assured of providing emergency services to the public in a timely fashion. Emergency response times may be significantly delayed due to travel conditions. A county emergency declaration initiates county emergency plans, and allows additional resources to be provided by the state to assistance local response efforts.

Travel Advisories

A travel advisory is notification that road conditions are hazardous and will impede motorists’ ability to travel. A travel advisory at a “warning” level means the general public is stay off the roadways to keep routes clear for emergency personnel. Under a “watch” level, road conditions are still dangerous, and only essential travel is recommended.

For additional information about county travel advisories, please consult the statewide travel advisory map.

The map is continually updated with travel advisory information as reported by each county. The map is available at http://www.in.gov/dhs/files/travel-advisory-map/.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.