New Law Makes Michigan Teens Put Down The Phone While Driving

By Emma Koch

New Law Makes Michigan Teens Put Down The Phone While Driving

March 29, 2013 Updated Mar 28, 2013 at 6:15 PM EDT

TRAVERSE CITY, Mich. (www.incnow.tv) -- A new law went into effect Thursday in Michigan that prohibits hand held cell phone use by teenagers with a level 1 or 2 graduated license.

A level 1 graduated license requires that the driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian over 21 years old and a level 2 allows teens to drive alone but restricts nighttime driving hours and limits number of passengers. A teen must be 17 and have at least six months of driving experience before reaching a level 3, or unrestricted, driver's license.

The law is named in memory of a Sault Ste. Marie teenager, Kelsey Raffaele, who died in a car crash while talking on the phone in 2010. Raffaele was 17-years-old.

There are exceptions to the law, which carries a $100 fine for violators, such as reporting a traffic accident, medical emergency, serious road hazard, situations in which a driver's personal safety is in jeopardy or a crime.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.