FORT WAYNE, Ind. (Indiana's NewsCenter) - On July 1, the statewide texting ban begins. Sending and receiving texts and emails while driving are prohibited under state law.
Drivers texting or emailing while driving can get up to a $500 fine. Sergeant Ron Galaviz with the Indiana State Police says drivers should ask if it is worth the risk to text and drive because of the dangers.
"Texting and driving is actually more dangerous than drinking and driving, just the sheer prevalence of it, you know, dictates that something on the legislative front [had to be done] and they've done that and provided us with a tool that we are going to use on a day to day basis."
Galaviz says stop lights and stop signs are not avenues for texting or sending emails. Drivers caught using their phone to transmit texts or emails will be subject to a violation as well because they are operating a vehicle on a roadway.
Galaviz says state law enforcement are always looking for more ways to prevent fatal crashes in the state. He says this legislation could be the next step in reducing the number of deadly crashes on Hoosier highways.
"It's a very good piece of legislation especially for us because we have crash causation efforts going on everyday in an effort to reduce the number of fatalities and injuries statewide. So that's a piece of legislation that'll really benefit us in the long run."
Police recognize that this law will be difficult to enforce because they cannot take your cell phone and search through it as a piece of evidence. Police are hoping for the compliance from the public.
Anyone younger than 18-years-old is not allowed to use cell phones or any other telecommunication devices for any reason. Indiana is the one of more than 30 states with some sort of texting while driving ban.
What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.
© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.