Fincher & Crews Win Basketball Players of Year Honors (VIDEO & PHOTOS)

By Tommy Schoegler - 21Alive
By Dean Pantazi - 21Alive
By Kent Hormann - 21Alive
By Eric Dutkiewicz - 21Alive

April 25, 2014 Updated Apr 25, 2014 at 11:22 PM EDT

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (21Alive) - High School student-athletes from across Northeast Indiana celebrated another successful basketball season on Friday night with the 21Alive/Parkview Sports Medicine Boys & Girls Basketball Players of the Year and Scholar Athlete of the Year.

North Side guard Tre'Vion Crews won the 21Alive/Parkview Sports Medicine Boys Basketball Player of the Year. The senior led the Redskins to Summit Athletic Conference in the regular season and at the Holiday Tournament. He averaged 16 points, 6.8 assists and 2.1 steals per game. He will play college basketball at Jackson Community College in Michigan.

Crews was chosen by a committee of area boys basketball coaches: Carroll's Marty Beasley, Concordia Lutheran's Josh Eggold, New Haven's Al Gooden, Bishop Dwenger's Matt Kostoff and Bluffon's Kevin Leising. Nominees for Player of the Year came from those student-athletes who won 21Alive/Parkview Sports Medicine Boys Players of the Week honors during the 2013-14 season.

Other nominees were: Wayne's Justin Mitchell, Carroll's Chandler White, North Side's Oosha Mitchell, Norwell's David Vogel, Snider's Devlyn Williams, Garrett's Justin McCoy, Bishop Dwenger's Grady Eifert, Homestead Caleb's Swanigan, New Haven's Jordan Hogue, New Haven's Steve McElvene, Concordia Lutheran's D.J. McCall and North Side's Mike Davis.

Canterbury forward Kindell Fincher won the 21Alive/Parkview Sports Medicine Girls Basketball Player of the Year. Fincher surpassed the 2,000 career point mark, averaging 25.8 points her senior season. She and the Lady Cavs returned to their 4th consecutive state finals losing to Heritage Christian. Fincher will leave Canterbury with two previous state championships.

The girls basketball coaches committee which chose Fincher is: South Side's Juanita Goodwell, Canterbury's Wayne Kreiger, Concordia Lutheran's Dave Miller, Leo's Carriee Shappell and Norwell's Eric Thornton.

Nominees, who won 21Alive/Parkview Sports Medicine Girls Basketball Player of the Year awards during the season, were: Garrett's Brandi Dawson, Homestead's Sydney Buck, South Side's Brittni Clopton, Bishop Luers' Addie Reimbold, South Side's Chelsea Rogers, Canterbury's Darby Maggard, Concordia Lutheran's Courtney Smith, Snider's Deja Wimby, Concordia Lutheran's Dejour Young, Homestead's Karissa McLaughlin, West Noble's Kelsie Peterson and Garrett's Kaitlin Wisel.

Norwell's Brent Bales won the 21Alive/Parkview Sports Medicine Scholar Athlete of the Year for spring 2014. Bales plays basketball and runs track and cross country for the Knights. He has a 4.0 grade point average, and ranks first in the senior class. He's also a member of 4-H, National Honor Society, and student council. He plans to study veterinary medicine.

Bales was chosen among the 21Alive/Parkview Sports Medicine Scholar Athletes of the Week for spring 2014 by a superintendent panel that includes: Chris Himsel, superintendent of Northwest Allen County Schools; Wendy Robinson, Ed.D., superintendent of Fort Wayne Community Schools; Dr. Kenneth Folks, superintendent of East Allen County Schools; and Steven Yager, Ed.D., superintendent of Southwest Allen County Schools.

21Alive extends congratulations to Crews, Fincher, Bales and all the award winners during the 2013-14 sports season; and thanks Parkview Sports Medicine, SportONE/Parkview Fieldhouse and Jimmy's Grill for their support.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.