Several Counties Issue Burn Bans

By Scott Sarvay
By Daniela Salvador
By Maureen Mespell

June 15, 2012 Updated Nov 11, 2013 at 1:59 AM EDT

Allen County, Ind. (Indiana’s NewsCenter) – The Allen County Board of Commissioners announced that they are enacting an Emergency Burn Ban, prohibiting open burning.

The burn ban is due to the drought like conditions which have caused all grassy and wooded areas to become highly flammable when exposed to fire.

The other counties that have issued a burn ban are, Huntington, Kosciusco, Grant, Steuben, Noble and LaGrange.

A fire sparked on Friday afternoon is an example of why Allen County had to announce a burn ban. The fire occurred near Leesburgh Road.

A cigarette butt thrown out the window caused the fire said the Washington Township fire chief, which is evidence of how dry the grass is.

The ban includes camp fires, burning of brush, trash, burn barrels, and any burning that is open to the open air. Fireworks are also banned.

The Allen County ban will be in effect for at least 7 days.

The City of Fort Wayne still maintains that the firework ordinance is still in effect for the up coming 4th of July holiday.

Fireworks are restricted to June 29th to July 3rd and then July 5th to July 9th between the hours of 5:00 p.m. to two hours after sunset; on July 4th, fireworks can be discharged between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 midnight.

Officials say the ban will be enforced until sufficient rain is received to green vegetation.

Due to current conditions it would take a good sustained rain and a week after that rain to green the vegetation back to a point where the danger no longer exists.

What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

© Copyright 2016, A Quincy Media broadcasting station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.