Wis. Air National Guard Plane Makes Emergency Landing At Grissom AFB

By Eric Dutkiewicz

Credit: File/Wisconsin Air National Guard 128th Air Refueling Wing

KC-135

Gallery

2 photos

June 18, 2013 Updated Jun 18, 2013 at 7:13 PM EST

PERU, Ind. (www.incnow.tv) - A training flight from the Wisconsin Air National Guard was forced to make an emergency landing Tuesday afternoon at Grissom Air Force Base.

Around 4:30 p.m. EDT (3:30 p.m. CDT), a KC-135 from the 128th Air Refueling Wing, based out of Milwaukee, was returning to base during a training flight when it experienced a problem with the hydraulic system over Green Bay, SSgt. Jeremy Wilson of the 128ARW says.

General Mitchell International Airport in Milwaukee would be the likely place to divert, Wilson says; but concerns over the length of runway left officials with with an alternate plan.

Ultimately, the decision was made to land at Grissom AFB because of its longer runways, which would allow for a safer landing, Wilson says.

Around 6:30 p.m. EDT (5:30 p.m. CDT), the 128ARW plane landed safely at Grissom. None of the the three-member crew was injured.

The cause of the hydraulics problem was not known, according to Wilson. Wisconsin Air National Guard maintenance crews will examine the plane further in the coming days.




What are your thoughts CLICK HERE to leave us a "QUESTION OF THE DAY” comment.

Want to be in the know for the next weather event, the next school closing or the next big breaking news story?

TextCaster alerts from 21Alive.com are your defining source for instant information delivered right to your cell phone and email. It's free, easy and instant. Sign-Up Now!

Powered by Summit City Chevrolet



© Copyright 2014, A Granite Broadcasting Station. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.